The Fleurieu App
The Fleurieu App
Fleurieu at your fingertips
Get it on the Apple StoreGet it on the Google Play Store
The Fleurieu App

History made with First Nations Voice election

The Fleurieu App

Julia Beckett

01 April 2024, 7:45 PM

History made with First Nations Voice electionNgarrindjeri elder Major Moogy Sumner has been elected to the Central local Voice to State Parliament.

South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people have voted to shape the makeup of South Australia’s historic First Nations Voice to State Parliament.


More than 2,000 First Nations South Australians cast their vote for the SA First Nations Voice to Parliament. 

South Australia's Local First Nations Voices will be made up of six regions across South Australia.

Kangaroo Island and the southern Fleurieu council areas of Alexandrina, Victor Harbor and Yankalilla fall within Region 4.

The City of Onkaparinga is part of the larger Central Region 1.

Nominations and enrolment to vote were open from 22 January until 12 February, with the elections held on 16 March; 113 candidates nominated for the 46 positions available on the six Local Voices.

Each local region will now choose two joint presiding members who will then make up the State First Nations Voice, with direct connection to state government decision makers.

Induction sessions will be held in April, before Local First Nations Voices begin meeting and electing their Presiding Members.


The advisory body will be able to make representations to State Parliament and talk with state government ministers and agency heads about policies that impact the lives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people living in South Australia.


The state government expects the six Local Voices and the State First Nations Voice will be up and running by mid-year.

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Kyam Maher says South Australia’s First Nations Voice is well on track, with strong interest in nominations and a successful first election.


“We recognise that the SA First Nations Voice to Parliament is the first of its kind in Australia and that it will take time to build awareness and engagement.


“We will look to strengthen engagement ahead of the next Voice election that will take place at the same time as the State election.


“I look forward to meeting the successful candidates in the coming weeks.


“The State Government also thanks outgoing Commissioner for First Nations Voice, Dale Agius, for his significant efforts in establishing the Voice to Parliament.”

The successful state Voice candidates are:


Region 1:

Moogy Sumner

Susan Dixon

Douglas Clinch

Robert Leidig

Tony Wayne Minniecon

Scott Wilson

April Lawrie

Tahlia L Wanganeen

Deb Moyle

Rosalind Coleman

Cheryl Axleby


Region 2:

Mark Campbell

Melissa Thompson

Johnathon Lyons

Dharma Ducasse-Singer

Dawn Brown

Christopher Dodd

Donald Fraser


Region 3:

Charles Jackson

Lavene Ngatokorua

Rob Singleton

Ralph Coulthard

Kerri Coulthard

Candace Champion

TJ Thomas


Region 4: 

Danni Smith

Eunice Aston

Sheryl Giles

Rob Wright

Tim Hartman

Darryle Barnes

Lisa Rigney


Region 5:              

Jack Johncock

Lorraine Haseldine

Cecelia Cox

Duane Edwards

Rebecca Miller

Leeroy Bilney

Keenan Smith


Region 6:

Raymond Wanganeen

Doug Milera

Joy Makepeace

Kaylene O’Loughlin

Denise Wanganeen

Quentin Agius

Eddie Newchurch


For more information about the Voice election visit the electoral commission website.

The Fleurieu App
The Fleurieu App
Fleurieu at your fingertips

Get it on the Apple StoreGet it on the Google Play Store