The Fleurieu App

Time to nominate the best in wine tourism

The Fleurieu App

Staff Reporters

14 June 2024, 2:30 AM

 Time to nominate the best in wine tourism Yangarra - 2024 Architecture & Landscape. Photo supplied.

South Australia's wine tourism operators and wine producers have the chance to be showcased on the world stage as part of the 2025 Best Of Wine Tourism Awards.


Nominations are now open for the 2025 Great Wine Capitals’ Best of Wine Tourism Awards – a key annual awards program for the sector, which recognises the role wine tourism has in strengthening the regional economy through innovation, sustainability, and service excellence.


McLaren Vale wineries took out two of the seven award categories in last year’s award. Yangarra Estate was recognised in the Architecture & Landscape category and Gemtree Wines was honoured for its Sustainable Wine Tourism Practices.


McLaren Vale wineries have taken out accolades every year of the Awards across its 9-year history.


The opportunity is made possible through South Australia’s membership of the Great Wine Capital Global Network (GWCGN), alongside other Great Wine Capitals around the world including Bordeaux and Napa Valley.


All 12 members of the GWCGN run parallel awards, with local category winners going on to compete in the Global Best Of Wine Tourism Awards which are judged by an international jury.


In 2024’s global awards held in Switzerland; Barossa Valley winery Alkina Wine Estate took home the Global Best Of Wine Tourism Award for Wine Tourism Accommodation.


Categories for the 2025 Best Of Wine Tourism Awards are: accommodation; architecture and landscape; art and culture; culinary experiences; innovative wine tourism experiences; wine tourism services; and sustainable wine tourism practices. With a continuing emphasis on sustainability, each of the shortlisted award entries for the first six award categories will be considered for the sustainable wine tourism practices award.


The Best Of Wine Tourism Awards are coordinated by the Great Wine Capital’s South Australian steering committee which includes representatives from the Department of Primary Industries and Regions (PIRSA), South Australian Tourism Commission, South Australian Wine Industry Association (SAWIA), and University of Adelaide.


For more information and to nominate for the 2025 Best Of Wine Tourism Awards go here.


Award entry applications close on 12 July 2024. 

Gemtree - 2024 Sustainable Wine Tourism Practices (photo supplied)

The Fleurieu App
The Fleurieu App
Fleurieu at your fingertips

Get it on the Apple StoreGet it on the Google Play Store